Color mapping intrusion depth onto the mesh

Hello I am new to ThreeJS and I’m really eager to develop my skills in ThreeJS.
Currently, I’m trying to implement a way to color map the intrusion depth of a mesh_A(cone) into a reference mesh_B(sphere).

My objective in the below picture is to add one more layer of color gradient representing the depth the cone intruded into the sphere onto the cone surface. S.t. user can intuitively tell how much the cone intruded into the sphere.

Reading through documentation and googling some information, I think I would need to use orthographic camera. Somehow get the distance map (get distanceToSphere - distanceToCone > 0) and then render a heatmap onto the desired regions on the cone.

Would there be an example closely related to this please? I looked for one, but I couldn’t find very useful one. (Probably because I don’t have an insight yet…)

If not, could anyone suggest how I can go about followings?

• Get the distance map
  • Apply distance map to appropriate regions of the cone faces

Thanks for the interesting question. It was really fun to try and answer it. And as a result, I made the sexiest pen in my life (so far).

The general answer is the use CSG, so you split the cone into two parts, one inside the sphere, and another outside it. The inside part is colored with a gradient texture.

However, if you do not look for a general solution, you can always figure out something else. Here is my try. You can rotate the scene for a better view of the penetration.

https://codepen.io/boytchev/full/KKxKRjv

4 Likes

Thank you so much for investing your time into the question. And I’m glad that you had fun while making this example. I really appreciate your help :pray:
The result is far more beautiful than I expected haha.

I have few questions to ask. It would be great if I can get your advice: