Camera Position and Lookat

Hi, I am new to Three JS. I want to know a simple thing(for you), a visual.explanation would be much appreciated. Lets say I have a 3D cube in my scene. Since its a 3D cube it has 6 sides. If I want to see all the 6 sides of the cube one by one, how would I do that? I mean if I place my camera whose X position is greater than my object and look at the object, shouldn’t I see the right plane of the cube? Again if mu camera Y is greater and lookAt the object, i should see top side of the object. I mean Isn’t it work this way? I know camera is looking at negative Z, but if i position the camera (changing its x,y,z relative to the cube) and lookat the cube from that position, shouldn’t I see that side of the cube? Isnt it like this?

Thank you, it may feel silly. But any reference or docs would be appreciated.

Hello @mahadi , if I understood your question correctly

Yes, you are correct that positioning the camera in relation to the cube and using the lookAt() method will allow you to see different sides of the cube. Specifically, positioning the camera on the positive X-axis relative to the cube and using the lookAt() method will allow you to see the right side of the cube, positioning the camera on the positive Y-axis relative to the cube and using the lookAt() method will allow you to see the top side of the cube, and so on.

Here is an example of how you might rotate the camera to see the different sides of the cube:

// create a camera
const camera = new THREE.PerspectiveCamera(75, window.innerWidth / window.innerHeight, 0.1, 1000);

// position the camera to the right of the cube
camera.position.x = 1;
camera.lookAt(new THREE.Vector3(0, 0, 0));

// render the scene
renderer.render(scene, camera);

// change the camera position to the top of the cube
camera.position.y = 1;
camera.lookAt(new THREE.Vector3(0, 0, 0));

// render the scene again
renderer.render(scene, camera);