Bad texture quality on mobile devices with CubeCamera

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to ThreeJS and I am interested in generating panoramic pictures from ThreeJS scenes. I found this handy tool for that purpose: THREE.CubemapToEquirectangular

It is working pretty fine but there is an issue that I just couldn’t figure out so far, and it is fairly easy to reproduce. From the demo page, when I capture on my laptop, the result is quite neat. But the same process on my phone leads to a very pixelated result (see attached images). Note that this is only the case on the exported images, the actual scenes are fine on both devices.

My laptop is an old one (Dell Precision M4600 - good graphic card though), my phone not that young as well (Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge). The pixel ratio is 1.5 on my laptop and 4 on my phone.

While it would be tempting to just tell me to update my devices, I did thorough investigations and the issue could be either related to:

• the devices’ pixel ratio (none of my attempts with setPixelRatio made a difference),
  • some canvas resolution (still related to pixel ratio I guess - none of my scaling attempts made a difference),
  • some render target filtering issues (some deterioration for the laptop when using neighboring min/mag filters but no difference for the phone)
  • the fragment shaders? (no clue about this one, so no attempts).

Here is my (summarized) understanding of how the CubemapToEquirectangular works:

1. A CubeCamera is created with a WebGLCubeRenderTarget of a given size, and some (linear) filtering options.
  2. The position of the CubeCamera, its renderer and its scene are updated with the one of the actual Three JS scene to capture.
  3. Another scene containing an a simple quad (with a RawShaderMaterial) scaled to the size (resolution) of the expected output image and an OrthographicCamera is created in parallel.
  4. The texture of the CubeMap render target is passed on to the quad.