Smooth Transition between OrbitControls and DeviceOrientationControls

Hi guys, I’m new to the three.js and need some help.
I want to be able to switch between OrbitControls and DeviceOrientationControls with a button click on mobile devices which support device orientation.
The problem is I don’t know how to switch between those two without camera jumping.

gyroscope_controls = new THREE.DeviceOrientationControls( camera );
controls = new THREE.OrbitControls(camera, m_renderer.domElement);

The switch state button:

gyroscope_button.onclick = function(e){
    e.preventDefault();
    gyroscopeEnabled = !gyroscopeEnabled;
    $(this).toggleClass('push');
    chooseControls();
}

And the switch function:

chooseControls (){
        if (orientationSupported && gyroscopeEnabled) {
            gyroscope_controls.connect();
            gyroscope_controls.update();
            controls.enabled = false;
            console.log("gyroscope");
        }
        else {
             controls.update();
            gyroscope_controls.disconnect();
            controls.enabled = true;
            controls.enableZoom = false;
            console.log("manual");
        }
}

Thanks again!

Does the camera jumping happen in both directions? I mean when you switch from OrbitControls to DeviceOrientationControls and vice versa? Or just in one?

Hi, thanks for answering,

Yes it jumps in both directions.
I’ve included both .js files (orbitControls and deviceOrientationControls) and they both work and switch on button click… it is just they are not linked with each other.
Also I noticed, Orbit Controls is the Boss, if it has controls.enabled = true, deviceOrientationControls never show up. probably I messed some settings up in in my “chooseControls” function.
Also tried to implement this https://www.learnthreejs.com/device-orientation-gyroscope-controls-tutorial/ but with no luck.

Thanks again.

I’m having the same issue here, and I can’t get my head around a working solution so far.