Angular 16+ & ThreeJS

Dear ladies and gentleman,

for playing around with some web gl rendering i started playing with threeJS a few years ago, but now i will dive a little bit deeper.

So here are my angular template project which i want to share with all of you who also want to play something around with or maybe to built a real app from with it:

Angular + ThreeJS

The Template have the example code running.

Have some fun!

Original from: HTML5 Game Devs Forum - HTML5GameDevs.com

4 Likes

Now fresh updated to Angular 7.2 and ThreeJS 100! Have some fun with it! :slight_smile:

What about the Example Modularizations like OrbitControl or LensFlareElement? Are those covered in your template?

They are mentioned in the “Three Links” section in the readme. The package called three-full.

The Template is a basic starter, you can install everything you need via npm.

I’d like to mention a caveat when working with angular.
It uses zone.js as it’s change detection strategy. This means that zone.js hooks onto requestAnimateFrame, and runs angular’s change detection on each tick.

This is very expensive and you will notice a big performance degradation.

What you need to do is to create a new file in the src folder called ngzone-flags.ts
which you import at the top of your polyfills.ts file.

in this file you should have this:

(window as any).__Zone_disable_requestAnimationFrame = true;
(window as any).__zone_symbol__BLACK_LISTED_EVENTS = ['scroll', 'mousemove', 'touchmove'];

This will tell zone.js to not hook these events.

To check if it worked you can use the performance panel in chrome and run in for a while, to then check the callstack for each request animate frame.
There should be no call to zone.js in there.

Hope this helps as it took me a while to realize why my threejs apps where running so slow in angular :slight_smile:

Ps.
It could potentially break other angular libraries that are dependant on these events, so keep that in mind.

6 Likes